Day 6 – The Magical Walk!

by Owaiz

unnamed

Yesterday, I wanted to tell you about the walk I took in the park. I didn’t because there was nothing special about it. I had my earphones plugged in, it was dark, and I walked for about half an hour. I was zoned out and it was a bit difficult to walk. The end! But why did I start walking?

On Saturday night, I decided I needed to start taking walks. It is super difficult to get out of bed and do the normal things, so the walks are going to be my little victories. And, today, the walk was amazing.

It gets dark shortly after 18. I left maybe 3 minutes before 18. It was drizzling outside. The cold wind pressed against me like an unwilling embrace. My earphones were already plugged in, but nothing was playing. As I entered the park, a guy standing by said something. Lost in my own world, I didn’t quite catch what he said. Probably wanted to know what time it was. Pretending not to notice, I walked past him. The park was nearly empty. The rain danced on the leaves as the trees swayed with the wind. I could barely see two guys hiding in a gazebo behind the trees. Then there were the other two who were walking in the opposite direction, crossed my path every now and then.

The sun was nowhere in sight, and the sky was covered in patches of blue, black, and peach. The playground was empty. No kids. The wind swayed the swings and it reminded me of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I took two shoddy pictures from my phone. The wind was ruling the park today, making its presence known. I pressed play on my iPod. The music drowned the wailing wind.

Walking with my head down, oblivious to the music playing, I noticed the pavement. I don’t know what my iPod was playing, but my mind was playing Chasing Pavements by Adele. I chased the pavement for a while. Then my iPod made its presence known. Astronomia – Tony Igy. The beats drummed with my heart. I press next. Fireworks – Katy Perry.

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag,
Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again
?

Do you ever feel, feel so paper-thin
Like a house of cards, one blow from caving in?

The sand slithered on the roadside as the plastic bags took to the air.

You just gotta ignite the light, and let it shine
I look up and stare into the sky.
‘Cause baby, you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “oh, oh, oh!”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Right on cue, the sparks fly from behind the Colosseum-esque buildings, like shooting stars. And suddenly the entire sky lights up. Fireworks ensue from all sides. I look at my surroundings. A glowing white dolphin jumps out of a raindrop and swims upward. The leaves all light up like emeralds. Tiny blue creatures start popping out of the bushes, neon blue, like electric sparks. I notice a tree with three benches surrounding it.

Adele starts singing. I shake my head. The brilliance disappears. I marvel at my own imagination. It’s all I need.

Daydreamer


A jaw dropper
Looks good when he walks
Is the subject of their talk
He would be hard to chase
But good to catch
And he could change the world
With his hands behind his back, oh…

